About the 2016/2017 Series Authors

MaryAnn Baenninger Ph.D.

MaryAnn Baenninger began as the 13th president of Drew University in July 2014 after serving 10 years as president of College of Saint Benedict.

José Antonio Bowen Ph.D., FRSA

José Antonio Bowen is President of Goucher College. Bowen has won teaching awards at Stanford University, Georgetown University, Miami University, and Southern Methodist University, where he was Dean of the Meadows School of the Arts.

Ángel Cabrera Ph.D.

Ángel Cabrera is the president of George Mason University, the largest public university in Virginia. Serving 34,000 students and located in the Washington, D.C., metropolitan region, Mason in 2016 moved into the highest research category as determined by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education.

Javier Cevallos Ph.D.

Dr. Cevallos was born in Cuenca, Ecuador, and his family moved to Puerto Rico when he was 14. Dr. Cevallos earned his bachelor's degree in 1976 at the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez. From Puerto Rico, he moved to Illinois, where he earned his master's and doctoral degrees in 1978 and 1981, respectively, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His area of research is Latin American literature, with particular emphasis in the Colonial era.

E. Gordon Gee Ed.D.

Currently serving for a second time as president of West Virginia University, Dr. E. Gordon Gee has been a leader in higher education for more than three decades. In 2009, Time magazine named him one of the top 10 university presidents in the United States. In addition to his service at West Virginia University, Gee served as president of The Ohio State University (twice), Vanderbilt University, Brown University, and the University of Colorado.

Deborah P. Moore

Deborah P. Moore is the executive editor and publisher of School Planning & Management (SP&M) and College Planning & Management (CP&M) magazines, award-winning publications serving the K-12 and higher-education market. As a 17-year member of the SP&M and CP&M team, Deb provides leadership and serves as a spokesperson for SP&M, CP&M, and the educational facilities industry. She has written extensively and presents to numerous groups on the impact of facilities on learning.

Shannon O'Connor

Shannon O'Connor is the editor of College Planning & Management magazine, an award-winning publication serving the higher education market. CP&M features practitioner-based articles, topical supplements, and special reports that focus on facilities, safety and security, technology, business, and finance. She has served as the editor of CP&M since 2005, guiding the magazine to a number of industry awards from the American Society of Business Publication Editors (ASPBE) and Trade, Association and Business Publications International (TABPI).

Santa J Ono Ph.D.

Santa Ono officially stepped into his role as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of British Columbia on August 15, 2016. As a professor of medicine and biology, Ono has worked at Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, University College London, and Emory University.

Fred P. Pestello Ph.D.

Fred P. Pestello, Ph.D., became the 33rd president and chief executive officer of Saint Louis University in 2014. He is the first permanent lay president of Saint Louis University since its founding in 1818.

Paul C. Pribbenow Ph.D.

Paul Pribbenow is president of Augsburg College, a private liberal arts college associated with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) and located in Minneapolis, MN. Since joining Augsburg in 2006, Pribbenow has enhanced the College's role as an active community partner in its urban setting. By identifying and embracing initiatives that mutually benefit Augsburg and its neighbors, the College has achieved national recognition for its excellence in service learning, experiential education and inclusion and equity.

Edward Ray Ph.D.

Dr. Edward J. Ray became president of Oregon State University in July 2003. He received the 2013 CASE District VIII Leadership Award and the 2013 Liberty Award from the Oregon league of Minority Voters.